Advisory Board

The Advisory Board plays an important role in shaping SXSW EDU. The board is composed of leaders from all backgrounds in education, including professionals from early, K-12, and higher education as well as workforce development. Advisory board members are practitioners, administrators, business professionals, nonprofit leaders, entrepreneurs, policy makers, and students from all over the world, each offering unique, and diverse perspectives.

Photo by Tico Mendoza.

Photo by Tico Mendoza.

Programming Committee


Members of the Programming advisory board committee share their time and expertise by evaluating proposed sessions submitted via PanelPicker. The board’s participation weighs heavily in the overall session programming of the event.

Launch Committee


Members of the Launch advisory board committee share their time and expertise by evaluating startup applications for the Launch competition, and providing instrumental insight as it relates to the education marketplace.

Amelia DeSorrento (Friedman)
Senior Manager, Product Management, Capital One

Ash Kaluarachchi
Managing Director, Started | EdTech Week

Dan Carroll
Chief Product Officer, Clever

Eileen Rudden
Cofounder, LearnLaunch

Erin Mote
Executive Director, InnovateEDU

James Kim
Senior Associate, Reach Capital

Jenna Talbot
SVP, Strategy, Whiteboard Advisors

Jessica Falkenthal
Education Community & Growth Strategist, Jessica Falkenthal & Associates

Kevin Custer
Founding Partner, Arc Capital Development

Maia Sharpley
Partner, Learn Capital

Margaret Roth
Director of Portfolio Operations, Squadra Ventures

Matthew Cohen
Managing Director, Cohen Strategy Group, LLC

Sarah Silverman
Co-Founder, Outside Angle

Scott Lipton
Data Specialist, The Holdsworth Center

Susan Badger
Board Member, XanEdu

Tom Glover
Head of Media, Golin

Vu Van
Founder & CEO, ELSA, Corp.

Yichen Feng
Principal, Lumos Capital Group


Stay Tuned

Sign up to receive the latest announcements, tips, networking invitations and more.